Rhino v. Surfaceworks/Solidworks

Discussion in 'Software' started by J.Rhodes, Feb 19, 2006.

1. J.Rhodes

J.Rhodes Junior Member

Hello. I am a boat designer in progress. I have decent experience with Surfaceworks and enjoy the surface modeling freedom it provides me. I am thinking of investing more in my software and I do not know if I should upgrade my current surfaceworks/solidworks programs or start fresh with Rhino.
    Rhino seems to be popular but I know Surfaceworks. I searched the message board for surfaceworks reviews and found little.

Does anybody have any advice? Any comments are appreciated.

2. CGN

CGN Senior Member

I will upgrade SurfaceWorks/Solidworks and buy rhino, use it as a platform for rendering, or translating files, I won't say surfacing because I guess you are comfortable whit what you have now, but if rendering and translating files is not an issue upgrade and buy Flattener instead.

3. J.Rhodes

J.Rhodes Junior Member

I hear that. It seems Rhino (and add-ins) has powerful rendering capabilities. What is Flattener?
    Thank you for your reply.
    Jesse

4. Caldera Boats

Caldera Boats Beer4Ballast......

IMOA, The Surfaceworks/Solidworks is a very good combo. Solidworks is a lot more powerful than Rhino. Rhino is kinda old-school, while SW uses the latest modeling techniques. The ease at which SW can make a part or assembly into a drawing is excellent.
    I use a combination of FREEShip/Solidworks/Surfacesworks. This has made full solid model rendering and final drawings a matter of days rather than weeks or months.
    :)

5. CGN

CGN Senior Member

Hi Rhodes,

Check the Aerohydro site they have a program for plate development called flattener, that works with surfaceworks.

And about the rendering capabilities for rhino, yes, rhino finally has some support form Vray and Brazil rendering engines that are very powerful, don't go with Flamingo I think for the price/results ratio I will go with Vray.