I’m new and want to try designing boats

Discussion in 'Software' started by caseys, Dec 26, 2010.

1. caseys

caseys New Member

Hello every one I am new to the sit and I want to try design boats as I am a fisherman and so I can see what comes from a fisherman’s point of view of boat made just for fishing. I have just finished school and will be doing TAFE in Australia (where I live) I want some
    thing constructive to do with my free time rater than just sit around watching to and that sort of boring stuff. Any way I am looking for free software to use and help would be very good.

Thanks caseys

2. Leo Lazauskas

Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

Before you start playing with software, you should read some introductory books on boat design. Also, read some of the many excellent discussions in the Design forums here.

If your maths is weak, you will not be able to do much except draw some nice coloured pictures of boats - that is NOT boat design. You will not understand their stability, or their drag characteristics, and you will not be able to demonstrate that your "designs" are safe.

I'm not trying to put you off boat design as a hobby or profession. Just be aware that it is much, much more than drawing pretty pictures. :)

Good luck!
    Leo.

3. caseys

caseys New Member

Ok I will have a look and get some books I an just looking for a free one at the moment to try so I can see if I like it or not. It is very much just a hobby and none will probably never be built. I don’t see it every being a profession. I tried to down load Free!Ship but it wouldn’t work any help plz.

Thanks caseys

4. Leo Lazauskas

You would be wasting your time with Freeship at this stage of your boat design "studies".

The best advice I can give you is to learn much more about the internet, how to search for information you need, and how forums on sites like boatdesign.net work.