I have vessel RAOs, now need to get dynamics motion. (MechEngineer)

Discussion in 'Software' started by nokry56, Jul 10, 2012.

1. nokry56

nokry56 New Member

Hi all,

I have a (I think very basic) Naval Engineering question for you. I am a Mechanical Engineer so all of this is very new to me.

For a project I am working on we are trying to find the dynamic motion of a specific point on a vessel. I have the sea state information, as well as complete vessel RAOs.

I'm trying to build an understanding of the x, y, & z displacement of a given point on the vessel deck, along with the acceleration & velocity components.

I have a good understanding of dynamics (Newtonian & Lagrangian), but have not been able to find conclusive information on how to properly use RAOs. Most of my searches end up pointing me to complex tools to develop RAOs, not what to do with them once I have them :)

A friend mentioned that this should be simple enough to do in Excel or in a basic Matlab script. Is this true? What should my next steps be? Any recommended reading for me?

Thank you!

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

This is actually rather complex.

If I understand you correctly you're essentially doing what is called a LFE (lateral Force Estimator) and/or a GLFE (Generalised Lateral Force Estimator). calculation.

Your ROAs would be in Roll, Heave, Pitch and Sway.

The LFE and GLFE use transfer functions, which are complex to fully explain and require some back ground reading. I suggest you read "Motion-Induced Interruptions as Ship Operability Criteria", by Ross Graham, Naval Engineers Journal, March 1980, for guidance on how to use the transfer functions from ROAs.