Trimaran Conversion on the Cheap

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Chuckles, May 4, 2015.

1. Chuckles

Chuckles New Member

I recently acquired, all for free, an old 70's speedboat (15' Crestliner "Muskie", bowrider trihull design - the old outboard doesn't work, hull is in great shape), a Prindle 16 in great condition, and an extra Prindle "parts" boat with hulls and extra mast in great condition. I have been having a blast on the Prindle with some multiday solo sail camping trips and some daysailing with my wife. My wife has never really loved the "excitement" of the Prindle in anything other than a light breeze, and with the recent addition of a baby at home, I've been pondering some options for some gentler, family-oriented daysailing and sail camping. I am currently a student and we have minimal income to lend to this sort of thing so buying a better outfit more suited to this task right now is not an option. Brainstorming this situation, I have started to ponder using the speedboat hull, my extra Prindle hulls, and the rig from my good Prindle as a converted trimaran...

I know that this isn't an ideal conversion situation, as the Crestliner is certainly beamier and a very different shape than the center hull on most trimarans I've seen. My question for you is if there is some reason, with my modest goals in mind (a stable affordable daysailer), why this absolutely wouldn't work?

Because I don't really have anything to lose--some modest material costs (foldable cross braces for the amas, a rudder/tiller, and I'm thinking about lee boards to not have to deal with building a case for a centerboard) and some time (I need a project to tinker on anyways), I'm excited to give this a try.

Any suggestions to make this project doable? Any glaring pitfalls that I might be missing?

Below are some photos of the hulls.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3nDxYVQOTala2FzUkw4M0FkYUE/view?usp=sharing