Relocating rudder

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Vronsky, Apr 3, 2014.

1. Vronsky

Vronsky Junior Member

Dear all,
    Please be gentle, newbie here...
    I'm studying options for a 33' sailboat for solo circumnavigation.
    Since I'm 6'5" tall, boat options in this size with standing height headroom in the salon are VERY limited.
    I was looking at a Beneteau Oceanis 343 that seemed to fit my needs very nicely.
    But after seeing this YouTube clip, I changed my mind on having any boat for my big trip with a spade rudder >
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7GYGlN_t2g&list=UUC5sAt5yfQtH4bYe-VmRztA&feature=share
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5xKM4y36-A&list=UUC5sAt5yfQtH4bYe-VmRztA&feature=share&index=1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKBzu0geNvM&list=UUC5sAt5yfQtH4bYe-VmRztA&feature=share&index=2

However, non-spade rudder boats with the required headroom are almost non-existant (discovered one, Bjorn Olsen's Nimbus 33: very hard to find).

So I am wondering if it is perhaps possible -within reason- to replace the spade rudder of an Oceanis 343 by a transom hung rudder, like in the Beneteau First 27.7.
    Or is this a ludicrous idea ??

Please share your thoughts.

THANKS,
    V.

2. FAST FRED

FAST FRED Senior Member

Since I'm 6'5" tall, boat options in this size with standing height headroom in the salon are VERY limited.

SO?

Standing in very smooth water is OK to relieve oneself below and perhaps to wash dishes.

Lots of boats have specifically designed SITTER interiors, but usually way smaller than 30+ft.

Interior modification has little risk.

A transom hung rudder conversion should be no problem , even if the transom needs to be beefed up.

Building the new rudder put a tab on the trailing edge and power the tab with a wind vane , as well as an electric ram style auto pilot.

These use tiny electric with the minor load of a trim tab.