Marinepoxy

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Steve W, Jul 7, 2014.

1. Steve W

Steve W Senior Member

Just wondering about the viscosity of this brand and how well it will wet out heavier fabrics, I have never tried this brand but I know Par always recommends it as a lower cost alternative to the big name brands. I have been using Aeromarine for a couple of years and quite like it but they only offer one hardener, its time to order so i thought id try something new (to me). Properties that are important to me are low viscosity and high elongation and preferably a range of hardeners.
    Im not looking for suggestions of a whole slew of offerings, just ACTUAL EXPERIENCE with this brand and perhaps Progressive also.

Steve.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Marinepoxy is about middle of the road, not quite as thin as RAKA, but better then West 105 series. I has slow regular and fast hardeners. The slow is pretty good here in Florida, but not quite as slow as West 209. West 209 will have about 45 minutes of working time in a our typical summer heat, while Marinepoxy's slow will be about 35 - 40 minutes.

Wetout is good, though I use fairly thin fabrics mostly. Call Joel over at Bateau.com, as he works with it regularly and can offer some more information. If I had to compare it to a major brand, it's much like SilverTip from SystemThree.

Also call Paul at Epoxyproducts.com, both he and Joel at Bateau are approachable and knowledgeable. Paul has more formulations to offer then Marinepoxy and much better chemical understanding as well.

3. Steve W

Steve W Senior Member