Some advice on costing

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by pleasedontsink, Mar 24, 2016.

1. pleasedontsink

pleasedontsink Junior Member

Hello all,

I am looking at making moulds that would be used many times hopefully. I have no experience in plug and mould making and from what I have read I will need to do a lot of research and practice before proceeding.
    I have been quoted around 50 thousand from a fibreglass company.
    I am willing to do the work and research if it would save me a lot of money so my question is..... Will it save a lot of money to do it myself or should I just spend the money to have it done professionally?
    I thought it might save heaps to do it myself as it is so labour intensive.
    Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers.

2. Jamie Kennedy

Jamie Kennedy Senior Member

Molds can be very expensive, especially if you want to be able to use them more than once. They tend to be heavier than the boat, so there is more materials and labour there. Also, the finish work has to be just as good on the finished surfaces, of which there are just as many. Finally, you usually don't have a mold to build a mold with. You have to build a plug first. Where you planning on at least building the plug for them, or are they doing that also? It is important not to build a plug that is difficult to build a mold for. This increases mold costs and manufacturing costs of your product.

It would be best to gain some experience by building your own plug, and mold, and a few finished products. Start with something small that you can do all on your own. Something very small, like flower planters, or model boats. Even a small dinghy or canoe could get expensive as you will likely have to throw it all away and recover no costs. Not so small that it's not realistic, but not so big that it is too expensive.