Outrigger canoe

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by speedboat100, Jun 6, 2015.

1. speedboat100

speedboat100 New Member

Hi everybody!

As you see Im new here - my very first post! Let introduce myself first, in short: Im an engineer, experienced in composites, and my first love are...
    airplanes! (should I say that - dont offend please! Hey, airplanes and boats have lot in common!:)

I like aerodynamics, and had a lot of knowledge in it, and am doing some CFD (simulations).

Ok, now I am very interested to build Outrigger canoe (OC-1), in composites of course. Should be in carbon-epoxy or in glass-EP cheaper variant.

Frankly I never saw outrigger "live" and never paddled one, the closest boat that I have some experience with is my "classic" canoe and racing kayak that I rowed many years ago.

So, for now, my questions are more general: Does anybody have experience with such boat (OC), what are pros and cons of that design, would you recommend me any particular model to base my design at?

any input appreciated!

ps: technical question regarding forum: how to attach photo from my computer (it seems there is only http//... option)??

2. edvb

edvb Junior Member

3. speedboat100

speedboat100 New Member

Thanks edvb, interesting!

Mine is going to be without a sail, the very simple one, just for paddling. Sailboat is nice, but the fact is I have started one complex airplane project already so it is better to stick to simplest canoe now.

this is one that would suite my needs:
    [​IMG]

The all I know for now is length about 6.5 m (22 ft) and weight of 10-15kg (22-33 lbs). I would like a sleek, fast canoe (low drag) for flat water mainly, and light as possible - guess can be made at 10 kg.

does anybody have drawing (3-projection)?

4. Manfred.pech

Manfred.pech Senior Member

5. Sea Stallion

Sea Stallion Junior Member

speedboat