free blender 3d animation open source software

Discussion in 'Software' started by Roostah, Jun 11, 2011.

1. Roostah

Roostah Junior Member

http://www.blender.org/ good for making animated movies of your projects. or renderings. plenty of tutorials on youtube as well as on the blender site. ^.-

1 person likes this.
  2. quequen

quequen Senior Member

Blender is a fantastic, powerfull software for anyone who has interest on 3D, and its's GNU licenced. It's intendet to be a character's maker, but you'll find a package that is in many ways at the same's Rhino level. I think Martijn, Leo, Victor T, could take a lot from Blender to improve their products.

3. Leo Lazauskas

Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

How would it do that?

4. quequen

quequen Senior Member

Well, I'm not a programmer (ok, may be a really bad one) but think that having acces to the source code of such a 3D software can reveal some good ideas.
    Perhaps you could incorporate animation and quality render to your wave paterns, and a cool 3D viewer; Martijn could make a good Renderer to Delftship Pro, and even animation, and a faster way to select, modify, reorder, smooth the surfaces and nurbs control points, etc.

5. Leo Lazauskas

Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

Thanks, but I'm more interested in ship science. :)
    I always output results in simple text formats, so people can use them as input to Blender (or other programs) to produce their own graphics.

Leo.

6. CaptBill

CaptBill CaptBill

Blender is actually really powerful and would be a good platform for an advanced hullform modeler on par with rhino (even better actually). What they lack is customized tools to 'drive' the interface. They need the final layer of toolsets, developed by boat builders FOR boatbuilders to work without having to become a 3d artist. In stock form they are very broad reaching to appeal to any market, but lack a programming 'framework' that is needed for all but a professional 3d artist.