Confused with hull design and engine HP..

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by SoNew, Nov 18, 2012.

1. SoNew

SoNew New Member

Hello All!,

I'm very new to the "technical" side of boats and boat building so please excuse any questions that may seem ridiculous or redundant to those that "know"

I've chosen a boat which I like from an aesthetic and size point of view which is the Benford "Baten" and I'm now trying to learn about hull design and engine power based on that particular boat to see if it fits my "need'' of a economical coastal putterer with dreams of more.

In the description, the Baten is referred to as a displacement hull, which is what I want. However later in the description of its engine it talks about having a 50hp engine and "her flat enough hull" and getting it up to semi displacement speeds?

So now my question is, which sorry, is more of a two part question.

One, can this boat be ran as a displacement hull or is it truly a semi displacement hull?

Second, I've read that a diesel engine should have about 2-3hp per ton(2240 lbs) of boat. Does this mean that for example a 2 ton boat can be well off with a 6hp engine? It seem strange to me because there are a lot of boats under that weight yet I don't see many diesel engines in that size range. Please tell me what I'm missing from my equation of choosing a proper sized engine for a displacement hull and more specifically for the Benford "Baten"

I'm trying to learn about about boat "weight" to engine HP while having the engine run in or at the proper RPM range for its size.

Thank you for any responses.

P.S. Sorry I suppose I should have separated the questions and put the engine question in the propulsion section but thought it would make more sense this way.

http://www.benford.us/pcty/20supply.html

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member