outboard as in inboard?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by tryin to float, Jul 25, 2004.

1. tryin to float

tryin to float Junior Member

outboard as an inboard?

I am new to boating...but i was wondering if most outboard engines are water cooled, and if so could one be used as an inboard... :confused:
    The purpose for this is that i find most outboards approximately 60-65 hp to be cheaper that inboard of the same power... My plan was to take the motor... mount it horizontally and have the driveshaft lead to the prop below the boat...usual mounting procedure for an inboard... Any advice on this, if it is possible would help me out a bunch, thanx guys.

2. dereksireci

dereksireci Senior Member

Genius?

You are either a genius or out of your mind. I can't decide which.

3. yipster

yipster designer

ob inboard mounting, shaft, hullfittings and hoses, venting etc has still a better price?
    need smal high tech block it would be, i dont know what to say...

4. tryin to float

cooling?

Guess my first question is a little out there.... can someone tell me if outboards are water cooled... maybe the rest i can try and figure out on my own. Thanx

5. Corpus Skipper

Corpus Skipper Hopeless Boataholic

Yup.
    Even after buying transmission, shaft, strut, stuffing box, cutlass bearing, through hull fitting, seacock, hose, clamps.....? Mercury has jet drives with outboard powerheads mounted inboard (large SeaDoos)

6. Arrowmarine

Arrowmarine Senior Member