Novice - questions about cat hull design and beam

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by T Lamb, May 29, 2022.

1. T Lamb

T Lamb New Member

So, I am a complete novice, but a crazy bit of a handyman, I like to take on big projects like building my own house, etc. I've built factories for the last 20 years as part of my job, so plans, following plans, and the details are all something I'm comfortable with.

That said, thru all that, I've always had someone else to do my CAD work, so, I've never become adept at it, and have suffered a little trying to learn.

But, I have some questions as I've looked at lots of study plans, designs, and the accomodations and decks and I thought I'd toss some out here and see if anyone can answer them for me.

1) I like Wharram designs for the simplicity, but I find that they truly were designed around 'sea camping' and not cruising. So, I've pondered over changes that I'd make to something like the Tiki 46.

Original specs are Overall length 46ft
    Length WL 38.1ft
    Beam overall 24ft
    Beam -hull 6'1"
    Empty wt 4.5 - 5 ton
    Draft 3ft
    Load capacity 3-4 ton
    Sail area 1000ft2 (soft wingsail schooner)

Diplacement / Length = 93
    Sail area / Displacement = 1.4
    Stability = 30knots Static / 18 knots Dynamic (o.6 x static)

2) so if a boat is 46ft long, and 38ft at the waterline, is canoe shaped in principle and currently has a beam in each hull of about 6ft, what if any issues occur if i decide to modify the design and expand the hull to 8ft? If the geometry still flows from the keel, seems you should still be able to match added displacement to counter the added weight, and still maintain load capacity, if not improve it slightly. I get this might slow it down a little, but so much you can't effectively sail?