Steel Trawler HELP!

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Wavewacker, Dec 29, 2011.

1. Wavewacker

Wavewacker Senior Member

Hey guys, I'm new at bigger boats and found a boat in my initial price range-CHEAP!

It's a 40' 1956 converted steel trawler, @ 14,000 lbs. It has a Ford Leham, F380D, FWC, Velva drive 2 10:1, model 10-17-010 with a claimed 1030 on the engine. The prop is a 24X18 with a 1 1/2" shaft. It carries 200 gal of fuel and 50 fresh water, but no holding tanks, guess it has a bucket in the head.

I don't know the grade of steel or it's thicknessbut in the pics it looks solid and rather fair for it's age....kinda like me. I plan on doing some interior work, it's okay, just needs some finishing touches. I will also need:

An interior helm, there is a place for it, but it is atop on an open bridge and is hydraulic. Wonder how hard it is to tap into those lines and have inside steering and throtle/tranny controls?

A gen set, it has two 30 amp pannels for shore power. It has washer/dryer a princess three burner electric stove, microwave, coffee pot, and would sometimes need to run mom's curling iron I guess. Kinda hoping a 5KW would do from a box store. The fridge/freezer runs off 110V/12V dc.

I like the layout, it fits my needs for two with occassional guests. I'm thinking liveaborad here and doing the Great Loop. Maybe the Bahamas some day and gulf cruising. It's a displacement hull, manufacture unknown, claimed a 4" draft with 11.5 beam.

I'm looking for great fuel efficiency (isn't everyone?), as well as reliablity of the mechanicals. It's probably not insulated, so that may be an issue but plan on going with weather, but it would be year round.

It has a stout davit and the aft deck is about 10X10+, so this boat is big enough for my ridculous requirement of my bike...

Hoping to hear about the engine/tranny and what to look for as to the steel if there is an issue. What to look for in such an oldie....:confused:

2. Wavewacker