Solidworks

Discussion in 'Software' started by Joerg Furrer, Sep 29, 2021.

1. Joerg Furrer

Joerg Furrer New Member

Hello, everyone I am planning to build a solar catamaran. I am very used to solidworks. But since I am a mechanical engineer, I am looking for a professional example of a yacht construction on Solidworks. It's about how the basic structure is done by a professional in Solidworks.
    So I'm looking for a professional Solidworks file of a ship. Size and type do not matter. Can someone help me?
    Joerg

2. Alexander Peter Bromley

Alexander Peter Bromley Student Naval Architect

Solidworks is not the best for modelling the hull form, we model in a specialized ship design software and then finish in Rhino or Solidworks with the detail.

marufuddin0 likes this.
  3. Joerg Furrer

Joerg Furrer New Member

The catamaran is to be built in aluminum. It's mostly about the part above water. The demanding part of the underwater is constructed by a boat builder.

4. Alexander Peter Bromley

Alexander Peter Bromley Student Naval Architect

Oh I see, so are you looking for a scantling example?

5. Joerg Furrer

Joerg Furrer New Member

Yes, exactly! Do you know some examples in Solidworks?

6. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

It is not possible to calculate the scantlings with Solidworks. You need suitable software for this purpose. Yes, you could use Solidworks, although it is not the most suitable tool, to draw the scantlings planes, but nothing else.
    I can show you drawings and calculations of scantlings but created with other more suitable software.

7. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum @Joerg Furrer
    Can you tell us a bit more about your solar catamaran please?
    It sounds like an interesting project.

Re how she will be built from aluminium, will she be (multi) chine construction, or 'round bilge'?
    Who is designing the hull shape - the boat builder?
    It sounds like you are responsible for designing the structure?