Propeller Shaft? I need help...

Discussion in 'Props' started by Reid Crownover, Apr 2, 2018.

1. Reid Crownover

Reid Crownover Young Hustler

Ok, So I have had this project I have been working on for a few months (18 foot trawler style work of art) and I have run into a sort of fork in the road. I plan on using a small 23hp Volvo diesel engine as my source of power, however, I am not sure how to run my driveshaft from inside the boat to outside the boat without letting water flow into my hull. Nor am I absolutely sure what to use for my propeller shaft. I think it is worth mentioning that I am a broke 17yo high school kid and the boat has been assembled with primarily scrap wood people have given me from house build sights. That being said, I need to find a way to do this with little cost. Does anyone have any ideas on how I might be able to accomplish this with stuff I can get from the home depot? It needs to be salt water friendly and be able to stay in the water for long periods of time.

After a test run in Canyon lake the maiden voyage of my craft will be up the intercoastal from Matagorda bay all the way to New Orleans where I will be attending school at the University of New Orleans to study Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering. If anyone has any pointers or questions about the project or anything else, My email is Reidcrown@gmail.com :)

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Reid Crownover likes this.
  3. Reid Crownover

I have not picked a propeller yet, probably going to end up finding one off and old sailboat or something.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Propellers need to be sized to the application. Otherwise, that may end up being the equivalent of installing Ford Focus tires on a semi.

5. Reid Crownover

based off what I have read im going to need a pretty aggressive pitch on my propeller. Its an 18foot displacement hull.

6. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member