Rudder layup schedule

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Ugo, Sep 8, 2014.

1. Ugo

Ugo Junior Member

Dear All,
    I'm an amateur boatbuilder - my last completed project was a 26' radius chine sailboat.

Now I'm replacing the old rudder with a new one:
    spade, semi-compensated, no skeg.
    span 1,27m, root chord 0,35m, max thickness about 52mm.

The core has been CNC machined from corecell 80kg/m3 foam.
    The design skin thickness is 3,5mm.
    I'm going for epoxy resin + E-glass reinforcement, hand layup, vacuum-bagging.

I need some advice on skin lamination layup: MAT, rowing, UNI, bi-directional, or a combination of two or more of these?
    sheets orientation?
    Any hint on outer layer (I've read it's better to use a ligth mat as a final layer)?
    I know that wrapping the plyes around the core is not a good idea, then which is the right layup strategy?

many thanks in advance for any advice!
    all the best,
    Ugo

2. SukiSolo

SukiSolo Senior Member

One good reason for a light surface cloth is so the fabric does not imprint too heavily later on. On this size project, something like a 200 gsm weight glass would be a good surface material woven/biax vacuum bagged. It will also allow a light fairing compound or filler to be squeegeed over it then faired and painted.