Sterndrive Decisions

Discussion in 'Sterndrives' started by linwoodhardy, Mar 16, 2014.

1. linwoodhardy

linwoodhardy big coco

I have a Yanmar 6 diesel 220 HP and need to purchase a sterndrive. I have no experience these. What are the pro and con with these? track records? Yanmar ZT350 it was changed to a different supplier for the ZT370. Bravo diesel 2 0r 3 ? Konrad recommends there 570 single prop. This is a single engine 27 planing hull cruiser. Single or dual prop advantages? Im in Asia and no service dealers, reliability is the key issue.
    Thanks for any advice.
    Linwood

2. 7228sedan

7228sedan Senior Member

I do not have any experience with a diesel sterndrive, however the Bravo 2 Diesel would be my choice. I had a 26 foot cruiser with a single 7.4L gas and Bravo 2 drive. That drive swings a huge wheel which geared properly would be ideal behind a diesel. I am pretty sure that there was a partnership with Yanmar & Mercruiser at some point. You might be able to look up the factory matched recommendations.

3. Westfield 11

Westfield 11 Senior Member

Bravo drives can be made to accept prodigious amounts of torque when used in 200 mph lake and river boats. Typically over 1000hp and comparable amounts of torque, you might want to contact some of the relevant performance shops and see how they beef up the drives. When you are a long way from any service techs or spare parts bulletproof takes on a new importance.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

An Alpha can handle 220 HP, though the Bravo is a tougher, stouter drive. Bell housings and transom kits are available for you diesel.

5. 7228sedan

7228sedan Senior Member

Par, you'd be comfortable with a 6cyl 220 HP Diesel coupled to an Alpha? I wouldn't think they had enough strength to handle the torque. I guess some manufacturers did couple them to the 7.4L in lighter performance hulls. linwoodhardy what is the approximate displacement of the boat you are working on?

6. PAR