Chines Outboards experience ?

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by Vulkyn, Jul 24, 2010.

1. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member

Well haven't seen a lot of opinions regarding these engines. I wanted to know what people's experience with them.

Please share your experience or concerns specially Parsun or HAMC engines (or any other chines outboard for that matter)

2. mark775

mark775 Guest

I don't know about these engines but I know some of their other tools look amazingly like good ones!

3. CatBuilder

CatBuilder Previous Member

Thankfully, I have no experience with Chinese outboards.

4. Wynand N

Wynand N Retired Steelboatbuilder

Parsun is a Chinese copy of Yamaha....Hearing some good thing about them locally.

5. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member

Yah Parsan are basically 95% yamaha (so i have read), they have a very aggressive campaign and are found just about any where world wide (UK, Australia, U.S etc..)

Here is their web site
    http://www.parsunmarine.com/

HAMC engines are not as wide spread, seams they are limited to operation in china (havent seen them any where else)
    here is their web site
    http://www.hamarine.com

There are other brands as well but i a have not looked at them yet

6. CatBuilder

I bought a copy of a Yanmar diesel generator once. It was the only Chinese motor product I ever had. It was *great* because it cost about half of what the true Yanmar generator cost. I was very happy when it produced good power.

It lasted about 20 hours before it threw a rod. Being a Chinese generator, there were no aftermarket parts to rebuild the ruined engine.

So, I went and bought a Yanmar based Pramac generator (Italian made) and it ran fine up to hundreds and hundreds of hours.

Moral of the story? I spent 1.5 times the price of the Pramac and had to install a generator twice.

Get something good and save yourself some money.

1 person likes this.
  7. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member