Chris Craft 283 - can't get above 2500RPMs

Discussion in 'Gas Engines' started by 1956Holiday, Aug 5, 2012.

1. 1956Holiday

1956Holiday Newbie

Hello,

I have a 20' 1956 Chris Craft Holiday with a 283 / 185 HP engine and cannot get faster than 2500RPM. I had the carb rebuilt and even put in some GUNK fuel system cleaner. Sounds great, no vibrations, etc.

Appreciate any suggestions or direction.

2. 1956Holiday

1956Holiday Newbie

Update.......

Had a friend that came over.....

Did a couple of things.

1st: Had the manifold cover on backwards on one side and the rockers were rubbing against the covers... Oil was actually coming out and the metal "pulsed" due to them pressing on the cover. Thought is that they might have gotten stuck. I am a novice........:rolleyes: and did not know they could go on backwards.

2nd: Adjusted the choke. I had lots of trouble starting the engine when it was hot and adjusted the choke far to the opposite side. I can start when the engine is warm, but it looked like the 3rd and 4th barrels were not opening up due to that adjustment. Gonna take her out and see what happens.

3. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

Could be both those things certainly the choke flap restricting air flow.

Ive never heard of forcing on the rocker covers before and yes you might have bent a valve and lost a cylinder or 2.

What to say-- well you might have cost yourself more money trying to do this yourself.

Im reluctant to tell you what to do because to be honest you cant do it.

You need 2 new rocker boxes for a start.

4. 1956Holiday

1956Holiday Newbie

Thanks Frosty. Appreciate the honesty.

I thought this forum was to educate people..........

In life, we start out not knowing what we are doing and often learn from our mistakes. This indeed might be costly mistake and I have learned.