How to mount a Thern/Davit style crane to deck

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by byob1985, Apr 24, 2013.

1. byob1985

byob1985 Junior Member

Hi - I am looking to mount a Davit/Thern style crane in the middle of my 21ft Carolina Skiff. I am a novice when it comes to hardware installation, so I'll probably have a professional perform the work. My question is: my Carolina Skiff is the older style skiff that is comprised of a deck, then foam core, then hull, not the newer style which apparently has a cavity between the deck and foam core. Will this make installing the crane base difficult? I believe most load bearing cranes (this will haul loads up to 400 lbs) are bolted down through the deck via a sealed base plate.

Also, is it advisable to mount the crane in the dead center of the boat? I have flexibility to mount it anywhere, but would think just behind the bow plate, the center, and at the stern would make the most sense from a stability and space maximizing perspective.

Thanks!

Scott

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

You will have to laminate (fiberglass) in a large pad to spread the load. Carolina skiffs have a rather thin deck that uses the foam for rigidity. I don't know if you can keep it from delaminating if the crane base is pulling. You may have to install something that goes across the whole deck to the sides.

3. byob1985

byob1985 Junior Member

Thanks for the help Gonzo. So laminate a big plate onto the deck and then bolt the crane base to it? I was planning on building some supports, either lateral wood braces or weld a metal tripod to the crane mast, in order to brace it and reduce the chance of delaminating.

4. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Mounting the crane is problematic but do able. There is the question of boat righting moment that should be addressed.