A Layman's question...

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Steve Vernon, Aug 19, 2008.

1. Steve Vernon

Steve Vernon Junior Member

Hey folks.

My name is Steve Vernon and I'm a Nova Scotia writer. I am looking to pick your brains here regarding a question about boat repair. Hope you can help me out.

A character in my novel is attempting to repair an old-fashioned wooden dory, the kind built like the old Viking longboats, (lap built, I think they call that?).

The dory has been holed by an errant caber toss.

How would the fellow who built the dory in the first place go about making his repairs?

Steve Vernon

2. BHOFM

BHOFM Senior Member

The Viking boats, ships, were built with full length planking
    carved to shape rather than bent to shape! This meant using
    large trees and only getting a few planks for each one!
    The stem and stern and keel where built first, then the planking
    was added, because they were carved to shape they required
    little internal framing, the curve being the strength of the hull.

They were fastened with pegs and copper rivets! Repair was
    just to remove the fasteners, make a new plank, install and
    be on your way! They were more than mere sailors or warriors!
    They had to be to survive!

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Most dories uses a unique construction method, called the dory lap (along with other elements) and generally are called dory built.

Had she been holed, the repair may take on several different approaches, depending on where it was holed. Typically a "scab" would be scarfed or butt blocked into the damaged plank. If more then one plank was affected by the damage, the separate plank repairs would stagger the seams of the scarfs or butt blocks, as to not make a weak area on the side of the boat.