offsets question atkins shoals runner

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Randallg, Oct 1, 2008.

1. Randallg

Randallg New Member

Hi, I am new to boatbuilding and to this forum. I have the plans for Atkins Shoals Runner and have some questions about the offsets. This boat has a flat keel planked with 1 1/4 " white oak. On the offsets the "base to keel" measurements do not seem to match the bottom of the keel on the profile drawings. If you use the "base to keel" measurements to mean the bottom of the keel and the " rabbet above bottom of keel" to locate the rabbet line and draw the body plan accordingly the result clearly does not match the lines drawing. Could the "base to keel" mean something other than the bottom of the keel? If there are any designers or builders who have experience with Mr Atkins designs any information would be welcome.
    Sorry for the longwinded post.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I suspect Billy was a "base line" guy. This means the first line he drew was a horizontal line at the bottom of the profile drawing. He then erected perpendiculars to this for his stations. Typically a base line drawing will have all the "heights" up from this base line. Check your "lines" drawing and see if the base line is present.

Those seabright models of his have some rocker in the keel plank, so this line will not be a straight line, though much of the after portions may well be.

Establish your base line as you begin lofting, making all heights measurements from there, for your old style torpedo stern, shallows master.

3. Randallg

Randallg New Member