numbers needed for certification

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Jorgoz, Jan 17, 2003.

1. Jorgoz

Jorgoz Junior Member

Hello people,

i'm new to this forum so forgive my french :D .

I've just perchased plans from Glen-l for their ZIP outboard runabout design. I haven't got a problem with the plans, they're great, but i've got another BIG problem. If i'm to build the boat and then i would like to sell it i need a EC-certificate :mad: . I already asked Glen-l for some help, but there's not much happening, they asked the designer of the boat and he said he didn't make those kind of calculations for such a small boat.

So you see my problem, as i'm new to boatbuilding and don't know squat about it ;) i'm not able to do these numbers myself. Are there any people out here who could help me ? I've attached the certificate i'm talking about.

George

Attached Files:

2. yipster

yipster designer

EC

:eek: since some years this EC exists i know but for whom? i learned from this doc. that an upside down triangle is the symbol for loaded displacement volume and more, but what a questions and what is is good for since nowhere a reference is given to the ideal or unacceptable numbers? cats and other confuguration boats need different forms? bet boats up to 10 meter got even way more than the 13 sheets form here? where to find such? whats the fee for registering? and much more questions rise. when selling as used do you need a EC also? iff all this makes better boats?

yipster

My apology’s for only adding questions here but this applies to other efforts to, hope we get some information here on this EC certificationing.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

In the USA the Coast Guard has guidelines that regulate amount of passengers and cargo any boat can have. This changes for each country. Check with your local authorities for the proper formula to calculate it.

4. yipster

yipster designer

lost my bet, powerboats over 6 meter is "önly" 10 sheets...