Novice In Need!

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by surfdreams, Dec 27, 2006.

1. surfdreams

surfdreams Junior Member

little time and 2 much info plz help! I am wanting to build an economical but sturdy power boat for charter fishing off the coast of coasta rica. I plan on leaving in a couple of months and boating from a texas port all the way to panama canal. I am looking for something at least 25 to 30 foot long but with so many articles, methods and materials not to mention designs I am going cross eyed and mad. perhaps someone with experience could give me there recomendations i really want to go with diesel inboards. i have been looking at designs for walk arounds, center consoles, cabin cruisers. I have some fiberglass experience but not in marine applications. any advice i get would be appreciated i'm looking for economics, strength, and simplicity of building but dont want to sacrifice speed comfort and functionability where not neccassary. Can someone pleaze tell me the best place to purchase full size plans and materials?

Last edited: Dec 28, 2006
  2. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

Welcome to the forum.

Try Bruce Roberts for plans. There are many other good designers you can look at.

Once you decide on what type of boat will best suite the fishing you plan on & provide room to live aboard, you can narrow your choice.

The size will depend on how many will be living aboard & the size of the fishing guest's parties on-board. Your financial situation will also be a/the major factor.

Assuming you will live alone & small groups for fishing, 30 foot will be an absolute minimum length IMO. With wanting to take it down on it's own hull, I'd push that to approx. 35 foot.

There is practicaly no way to build such a boat (even 25') in a couple of months. By yourself, you'd have to almost work full-time & hard to get it done proper in TWO YEARS!

If you can afford, it and feel you must go now- buy a boat. There are some good deals out there if you look.