Novice fiberglassing pvc pipe needs help

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by VictorVictor, Nov 20, 2015.

1. VictorVictor

VictorVictor Novice fiberglass

Help please!
    I am a beginner at fiberglassing.
    Before I begin repairing an old sailboat I want to practice on a different project.

I have 4 ten foot lengths of schedule 40 PVC, slit and telescoped one into the other. Diameters start at 2 inches and reduce to 1 inch. After telescoping the overall length is 35 feet.

I have secured 36 continuous feet of 10 ounce, 2 inch diameter sleeve fiberglass, which slips around the entire length of pipe. I also have enough epoxy resin with slow (60 minutes) hardener to reinforce the pvc pipe. The objective is to erect the 35 foot pipe into a vertical position once strengthened.

I lack experience for the actual spreading of the epoxy in that the pipe completely enshrouded with fiberglass sleeve rests horizontally on 4 wooden sawhorses, outside. I am not sure how to proceed because of the following questionable alternatives.

1. Can I apply epoxy everywhere except for the places where the pipe rests on the sawhorses? Then, after letting it harden, reposition the sawhorses, and apply epoxy to the now exposed former rest points?
    OR
    2. Can I apply epoxy to the entire upper surface of the pipe, let it harden, rotate the pipe 180 degrees so that the bottom and top are reversed and apply epoxy to the bottom (now upper) half?
    OR
    3. Position the sawhorses so that one end of the pipe is unsupported, epoxy that free end, let it harden, move the sawhorses with a new section now unsupported, epoxy that section… repeat this piecemeal epoxying until the entire length is epoxyed?

4. Is there a better way to do this other than 1,2,or 3 above? Each one of those results in a place where the epoxy that just hardened meets fresh liquid epoxy being applied. It is the final strength of these intersections that has me worried.