Northern Beaches Sydney, new boat build getting started

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Archie1979, Nov 4, 2007.

1. Archie1979

Archie1979 Junior Member

Gday Everyone,
    I thought i might just quickly write a new thread in regards to my Boat build. Its a 22 foot cruiser called Mercury from Build a Boat. I have started lofting the frames and bulkheads on some 3mm MDF. Ill attach some pictures and if you have any information or can see anything I am doing wrong please feel free to point it out as I am a beginner in boat building.
    I will keep this thread updated with my progress however slow it may be.

Well here is a couple of pictures to start

Oh yeah I am still wondering what sort of material to build it out of Mahogony or Oregan timber. HAs anyone got any info on the pros and cons of each type cost etc any help would be great

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 4, 2007
  2. carl_shipwright

carl_shipwright Junior Member

Hi, I am a shipwright with Sydney Harbour Boatbuilders so I will try to help you a bit here. Use Celery Top or Oregon for most framing members. Mahogany is not so easily obtained in Australia. For your brightwork, you will most likely want to go for teak, cedar or pacific maple/meranti depending on budget. The meranti can be stained and varnished to look like mahogany or teak, but is not as resistant to rot. That being said, I have seen it used successfully when protected properly with good workmaship and epoxy products. Good Luck
    Carl Rickards
    Carl Rickards Classic Boats/Sydney Harbour Boatbuilders

3. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

What ever you build it from make sure that its light. I mean not heavy. If you have a power boat you will kill it and end up with a dog .. Start NOW dont let anything on board too heavy.

I have a Seawind Ventura 44 and had it fitted with a Thai wood called mai yom hom, , I have no idea what that translates to. A red but very light wood.