Non-smooth varnish & epoxy

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by trunge44, Jan 29, 2016.

1. trunge44

trunge44 New Member

Hi, I'm a novice builder and realized I probably messed up my finish. I'm building a wooden sailrig to attach to a kayak. It is fiberglassed/sealed with epoxy. I was a bit hesitant when I began to varnish since the amas/outriggers do not have even epoxy layers (were applied with rollers). I sanded them with 320 grit sandpaper which did not eliminate the wavy appearance from the uneven layers before I began to varnish.

I read something that made me believe enough varnish layers would correct/hide the uneven epoxy, however after 4 varnish layers (light wet sanding with 400 grit in between coats) I still see the wavyness. The varnish I'm using suggested 4 coats at minimum.

If I continue to add varnish, will it eventually fill in the wavyness/uneven layers? Or will the epoxy wavyness show through regardless of the varnish smoothness? If the latter, would the only fix be to sand off all varnish and to fix the epoxy layer (I would probably just accept the non-perfect finish)?

I just applied a 5th layer tonight. My next thought is to more aggressively wet sand followed with 2 more layers.

I would appreciate any advice. Thank you!

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

If you paint over 40 grit sand paper, what do you think will be the result and how many coats of paint do you think it'll take to make it look better? This is what has happened, you've painted a clear coating over a rough surface, so yeah you can apply more clear, but you're just wasting material at this point and the rough surface is still visible.