Nils Lucander Designs

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Lucander, Feb 18, 2004.

1. Lucander

Lucander New Member

Nils Lucander, boat designer, formerly of Tacoma Washington, was my father. His designs as well as his research documents and literature have been in storage since his passing in 1998. Anyone interested, please contact me.
    Thanks.

2 people like this.
  2. mmd

mmd Senior Member

I studied several of your father's designs when I was in college studying naval architecture. I liked his workmanlike style of designs.

3. ron rope

ron rope New Member

I had the privilige of talking with your father not too long before his death. What a great mind! I'm a lifelong Tacoma resident, so when I saw an article he wrote with his phone number I just called him up and we talked for about an hour. A few days later I received a big envelope with specs and photo copies of two different boats he had designed that were now for sale. He just wanted to help the owners get them sold. If there is a way to view more of his design work and ideas I'd be thrilled. I hope you can get enough collected to get it published. (I loved how he kept refering to himself as a "heretic".) "Heretic"=genius in my book. I'd be glad to pay for copies of things that might be approprite to send.

Ron Lunceford

4. Cliff Center

Cliff Center New Member

Tug boat

I am purchasing 41 foot tug designed by Nils, Built at Cooks Marine in Tacoma in 1986, Where can I find plans or information on this vessel?

5. Lucander

Lucander New Member

Lucander Designs

Write me at lucander@bellsouth.net. Send whatever info you have on the boat. I will see what plans there are.

Nils Lucander :cool:

6. brian eiland

brian eiland Senior Member

The Pump Effect

Hello Nils,
    I posted your fathers article on "Eyeing The Pump Effect" as related to our twin keel discussions

7. tranmkp

tranmkp "wherever you go. there you are"

Lucander Designs