Newibe with posting question.

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by AndyBorris, Sep 29, 2013.

1. AndyBorris

AndyBorris New Member

Hi everyone.

As the title suggests, I'm a newbie and unsure on the best section to post a question about pontoon/raft design.

Not very exciting I know, but still something I've got a question about, at least it floats!

Thanks in advance.

Andy

2. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

Raft and pontoon threads are usually in this 'open discussion' forum, the one you posted in. So you can post here. If you go to where it says 'search this forum' and enter 'raft' it will show other threads about rafts. Then scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will find 4 'similar threads' listed also.

3. AndyBorris

AndyBorris New Member

Thanks, I'll have a search, maybe my question won't need posting!

4. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

Actually, go to the main sub-forum 'Open Discussion: All Things Boats & Boating' and there is where you'll find the 'search this forum' option. There are 3 options, 'search this thread', 'search this forum' or just plain 'search' which searches the whole site.

What's your question anyways?

5. AndyBorris

AndyBorris New Member

Just realized, a UK pontoon is somewhat different to an USA one!

In the UK, pontoon tends to describe a floating platform, not a slow "party" boat!

My question is around the maths of flotation, I have been asked to build a flat platform raft which can carry 6 tons.

I'm a welder, not a boat builder, so I'm hoping someone will look at my design/maths and say, "yes, it'll float" or "it'll sink"!

This is a charity project, so I'm hoping for free advice....basically, the design is a flat platform with 3 triangularly shaped pontoons under it, the platform is 41 ft long and 19 ft wide.

3 pontoons (2m x 2m x 1m) along each of the longer side, equally spaced. 1000 liters volume in each, 6000 liters in total, supports 6 tons?