Newbie questions (swim platform)

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by freddagg, Aug 17, 2018.

1. freddagg

freddagg New Member

Hi all,
    I am new here - complete novice.

I want to have a go at making a swim platform for the rear of my 7.0m (23') cruiser. The boat is 20+ years old and the original manufacturer of the swim platform no longer has any moulds

The design is such that half of new platorm will be supported by an existing smaller platform already moulded into the rear of the boat with the remaining half being cantilevered.

On other boats on this same model, the cantilever may be supported by by 2 struts - but usually it is not.

The platform is not in contact with the water when stationary or moving forward (on or off the plane). It does get wash over it when coming off the plane but drains away very quickly.

I am thinking I have 2 options:
    A) Make up a timber platform from 6mm (1/4") marine ply encapsulated in fibreglass,
    or
    B) Make up a simple mould and manufacture 100% fibreglass

From what I have been reading, I see the following issues
    Option A) Plywood
    1) I need to glass both sides - but will only need 2 layers on each side
    2) Glassing both sides will require me to turn the timber over
    3) Wrapping glass over/around the 6mm (1/4") edges will add to the overall width. As the new platform must fit inbetween the vertical faces of the existing transome, what deduction in timber width should I allow?

Option B) Mould
    1) Sounds the simplest and easiset to fabricate
    2) All the layers applied from the same side - I don't need to turn the platform over
    3) What thickness / number of layers would I need?
    4) If thickness is a problem I might try to stiffen by encapsulating pieces of ply but I would be concerned about adhesion to the underlying laminate (top laminate would be OK)