newbie looking for a little help

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by handyman, Feb 12, 2008.

1. handyman

handyman New Member

I'm an experienced woodworker and have built 8 kit boats (Pygmy kayaks) and am now trying to move up to something a little more challenging. I've got the the stem, keel, keel batten and forms put together for a rangeley boat using info from the John Gardner book. My forms are on the strongback with some ribbands to show 'fairness'. Things look good so far.....but it seems to me that the keel batten needs to be let into the forms to make things work out and the book offers no info one way or the other. Anybody have any suggenstions? If not, I'll just ad-lib my way through the project.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Nope, the keel batten lies over the station molds. like most clinker builds, the keel batten is "proud" of the molds and beveled to make the inside of the rabbit. It's usual to install both the keel batten and the false keel, though you could leave the false keel off until the garboard is hung. The frames lie over the keel batten, when viewed from inside the boat. The boat is usually built right side up if a single person is planking, upside down if a glued lap build or someone is willing to crawl around inside, backing the clench iron.

3. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

Yep, Par is right (again, ya gotta luv 'em).

When using roves, spend a little time first just simply joining two pieces of wood together till you understand the length to cut off the nail to the right length for the rove to sit nicely and peen the end, after a while it will come naturally. Also make yourself a nice steel hollow punch to set the rove down firmly, without smashing the wood grain. It is part of the practic of roving, do not try to do it on the planks till you understand what you are doing first. Oh, and make sure the planks are finished before joining, not much sense trying to sand a plank when it is roved.