Newbie asking for advice

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by jmoropeza, Oct 17, 2021.

1. jmoropeza

jmoropeza Junior Member

Hello everyone!
    I'm really interested in building my own cat, mainly because I want a sailboat that sails and not a brick in the water.
    I'm 42 years old and planing my way out from the rat race, even tho I have little to none experience sailing, just couple of weekend trips with friends. In my country (Mexico) we don't have a tradition as sailors so it's hard to learn, make contact with experienced sailors and even, to get good quality materials to build, like marine plywood.
    My main goal with the boat is to learn and if it's possible, use it as a liveaboard coastal cruising around the caribbean, first the riviera maya zone and taking Rio Dulce in Guatemala as a safe haven while learning, and progresivly adventuring aroun the caribbean and maybe even the bahamas.
    I'm single so I'm good in something small, but also, going for something small limit my options to sail with friends or to get a female skipper aboard.
    My age is also a limiting factor coz i don't think i will be able to build 2 or 3 boats during my time.
    Initially I was very focused in the marine ply boats but as i said previously, i'm limited by my location so i have to take the option of foam core sandwich... again, a newbie about fiber glass and other composite materials.
    Learning is not a problem for me, i can say it's even exciting to learn and develop new skills and knowledge.
    The main designs I'm considering are from Richard Woods, Tamar 31' and Sango 25'. I would love to go for the Wizard but as a liveaboard i don't think the Wizard give's me enough space to get a freezer on it, which is important for my plan to sail in the tropics.
    This leads me to bunch of questions:
    - What do you think about this ideas? Since you have more experience than me I value your input.