Newbe questions on floor and stringer rebuild

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by H2OHOII, Dec 26, 2010.

1. H2OHOII

H2OHOII Junior Member

Hello everyone, I'm new to the site and new to the Fiberglass experience...

I have a 15' 1959 Dorsett Fiberglass boat that I need to rebuild the stringers and deck floor. This secluded protion of the hull has sat with water in it for about 8 years, and has now got it's first glimps of daylight since I have cut open a good portion of the deck. Also need to replace the Transom

I have been reading alot of the posts here and other places on the Net... So eventhough I have no experience with working with Fiberglass, or body work in general, I'm prety confident that I can do the job I need to do... with some expert guidance as I have seen been given on this site, of course !

I really have a lot of questions, but some mainly pertain to what I want to change with the structure of the boat. To which, being an amature, the KISS method is useually best.... Keep it Simple Stupid... In other words, dont change the structure dummy ! LOL
    When I say change the structure, i mean like dropping the forward Deck down below the side rail to be like a casting deck... stuff like that, basically modifying the bow and Aft deck structure.

I know I shouldnt go overboard being my first time doing this, but alot of what I wouild like to do will play a roll in how I re-lay my stringers and deck floor. So I will move on to my main questions, and let you folks chime in on the above thoughs to steer me along...

Stringers
    My hull starts in Sharp V then flattens out about midship to a very subtle V. ( See pics ) Im leaning to replacing the Stingers with 2x4. The original wood looks to be 1x4 or 6, not really sure due to the rott, and the angle cut in the stringer on the Hull side.