New to Boats - Want to buy and rebuild

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by gregmercer, Dec 2, 2005.

1. gregmercer

gregmercer New Member

I'm 18 years old and would like to buy my first boat. Since I am pretty good with my hands I was looking to rebuild one and have been reading a lot on your sight. I have never worked with boats before though and know very little. I have worked on everything from cars to golf carts to dirt bikes to snowmobiles but nothing for the water. I can rebuild engines as well as do some good body work on cars so I thought with enough reading and learning I could fix up a boat.

I saw this boat on the side of the road the other day a few miles away from my house. I took a good look at it and took some pictures but I don't really know what I am looking for. It is definitely beat up but on a low budget and looking to do some work on one, that is what I was looking for.

I would like a boat that I can take to the Chesapeake bay, Ocean City (the beach), fish on as well as wake board behind. Will this kind of boat get the job done?

The two things that made me a little nervous about buying this boat was the plywood on the floor...? I don't know what is under it. And the crack on the outboard motor casing.

I talked to the owner briefly and he said that the boat runs well. I am a perfectionist so I doubt it runs to my standards but I think I could work on it a little. What should I be looking out for if I buy this boat?

The Boat is 17' 150hp 6 persons. He was asking for $1800 but I thought I could get him down to $1500. Is this a fair price? Should I not waste my time with this thing and get something in better condition?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member