Need some help/advice

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Alistair Perrott, Jul 17, 2023.

1. Alistair Perrott

Alistair Perrott New Member

Hello, i am looking for a bit of advice regarding a project of mine that i have been doing, it didn’t work out as planned.

I am building a mould for a center console for a boat. I am a qualified boat builder, i also did 18months of plug/mould development but that was 12 years ago, so i am rusty to say the least.

I built the plug in January, duratec’d it sanded it up to 1200g , (had a couple of small sand through patches but nothing massive) polished it then waxed it.

For the waxing i first used miracle gloss mould release wax( a hard wax)wiping on then wiping off 4 times. I repeated this 3 times.

I then used CR1 easy lease chemical release agent wiping it on, waiting a bit then wiping it off 3 times.

I repeated this 6 times.

I then painted it with tooling gel, thin skinned it then layed up the rest of the mould.

I stored the unreleased mould at a boat yard , covered for 5 months where the bottom got wet (had no option to release it sooner).

First i released the hatch which come off nicely, only sticking in one little spot, this was stored inside.

I then went to release the main mould and the flange immediately broke off as the mdf was rotten.

I noticed that the tooling gel had stuck to the pattern coat in a couple of spots around the flange.

I then tried to float the plug out of the mould, got some really good cracks but wouldn’t budge.

I ended up breaking the plug apart and saw that there was quite a few areas where the tooling gel was stuck to the pattern coat. Ill try add some photos.

I am basically looking for any advice or ideas on why this happened. Was the combination of the waxes wrong, was the finish not good enough, sanded through areas (it didn’t necessarily stick in these parts) anything to help me understand would be great.