Glen 17' Good Design?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mcca4661, Sep 13, 2007.

1. mcca4661

mcca4661 Chris

I'm very new to the sailing world but very excited about learning all that I can. I'm not comfortable with the various entry level vs advanced types of sailboat designs. I'm looking to build something large enough for overnight trips on larger lakes in the Northwest and the Pudget Sound area. I found a few different designs and really like the look of the Glen L 17', would this boat be a good fit for me? Is the recommended construction method entry level, mid level? I'm not afraid of projects and my wife even helps out too.

Any help/pointers would be wonderful.

Thanks
    Chris

2. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

Chris,

Glen l plans are regarded as good choices for amateurs and produce boats that are also generally good vessels. The boat needs to match what you want though. The Glen L 17 looks very minimal for what you asked for. Interior room looks very tight for comfort, especially for waiting out any bad weather when even the larger boats can get small..

Another boat that is only two feet longer but does provide a much more spacious and comfortable interior is the Belhaven 19 by B&B Yachts.
    http://www.bandbyachtdesigns.com/bel.htm

There is also a website to support builders of this boat.
    http://www.messing-about.com/forums/index.php?board=2.0

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Often open boats are not considered good overnighters when in fact they can be far more comfortable than full cabin boats. One reason is that they do not spend the night at sea, and so sleeping will invariably be within a safe and snug harbor. This allows a tent to be used, which, if well designed, can make a cabin many larger boats would envy.