new project, a little help please!

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by rodmar, Apr 22, 2008.

1. rodmar

rodmar Junior Member

hi guys.. i have decided to build my own beautiful, small sail boat... i am from mexico, i am 25 years old and i have no experience at all in boat building, or sea sailing, in fact i live in a desertic area and the closest beach or port is about a 6 hour drive jaaa! but i am familiar with plans and drawings for i own a big lathes and milling shop. my project is to copy these boat http://www.classic-boats.com/en/tofinou7.php
    i want to build it in wood, but as i said before i have no idea of what would, or sizes or prices or nothing jaaa!! could you guys help by giving me some advise of how to achive these project?

thanks to what ever help i can get!

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

what size boat are you thinking about? Small enough to car top, or to trailer? A day sailor, or something with a cabin? I suggest start with something small and simple, get both building and sailing experience, and then consider something larger.

I like working in wood myself (it is pleasant and less expensive way to build), but wood boat usually require more up keep (unless you can store it out of the weather).

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

I thnk you mean "achieve this project".
    It will take at least 20k in materials and more with an engine and trailer, but yes, you can build this boat if you are mechanically inclined. Alone, part time, expect to spend a few years since what seperates you from a pro is, for one thing, the pro knows a way to make almost every phase of building go fast and you don't.
    So it will take a lot of time. By all means, build it. I'm sure it will be rewarding.

Alan

4. rodmar

rodmar Junior Member