Acceleration Calculations

Discussion in 'Software' started by Oke Soe, Jun 17, 2019.

1. Oke Soe

Oke Soe Junior Member

Hi,

I'm new to motions and acceleration calculations. I started to use maxsurf motions. What should be the value to use for sea-fastening calculations? Significant amplitude? Before we only use thr guide lines from rules. Something like Max. Roll amgle 10 degree, heave acceleration 0.1g etc.

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

You have to decide for yourself the criticality of the item and what your non-exceedance criteria is. Armed with this you can back factor your maximum expected design load from your input spectrum and significant amplitudes (knowing that the significant amplitude is 2*sqrt(m0) of the response spectra). From there you just sum all 6 DoF rigid body accelerations determining m1 (or average response period) in any way your prefer. Remember that your FoS is for the materials, not the loads.

(edited 4 to 2 for amplitude to be consistent with Ochi and Bhattacharya below, I always think of included roll vice half roll to account for list and heel <shrug>)

Last edited: Jun 20, 2019
  3. Oke Soe

Oke Soe Junior Member

hi. thanks for reply. So i can use thr significant amplitude values for calculations.right? For example. i got 11.01degree as significant amplitude for roll angle in beam sea. can i assume that one as the maximum possible roll angle?

4. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member