Mathematical definition of Boat planing

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by astoffel0531, Oct 23, 2003.

1. astoffel0531

astoffel0531 New Member

I am a student doing some preliminary research about boats, with a special interest into planing. However, I have yet to come across a mathematical description of this behavior. Can anyone help me out?

2. cgorton

cgorton Junior Member

I'm sure you'll get differing opinions on this, as I believe there are more than one definition out there.

For instance, a recent article in Professional Boatbuilder (No. 85 - pg. 78) states "in rough terms, a boat is planing when it's traveling faster than its transverse stern waves, which occurs roughly at a speed in knots of 3.4 times the square root of its transverse beam in feet. Full planing is about twice that speed..."

This seems like a rough estimate, but I can think of exceptions having to do with weight. A very light "skimming" hull with beam X could be on a full plane at the same speed that a heavier vessel, also with beam X, is not planing at all.

I don't think there's a clear definition, but I'd like to hear other ideas...

3. Guest

Guest Guest

There is no mathmatical definition of planing. There are mathmatical formulae to calculate planiing AFTER you have decided on the definition of planing that you like. There is no clear consensus on exactly what constitutes planing except at higher speeds where everyone agrees that the boat is planing. The transition region from displacement to full planing is where the disagreements occour and this varies a lot with different hull types.

4. Guest

Guest Guest

One opinion

Often the onset of planing is defined as when the boat's center of gravity moves up (presumably due to dynamic lift), but when "full planing" is acheived is another issue.

5. Guest

Guest Guest

Your actual question