New guy, rookie question.

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by mojodad, Feb 13, 2013.

1. mojodad

mojodad Junior Member

Hi guys. I'm a 1st time boat builder with minimal woodworking experience. I'm about to start Michalak's Piragua. It's a 13' long plywood and epoxy boat. My question is, Michalak suggests only glassing the chines and using an epoxy fillet on the seams to keep it cheap and simple. I've never used epoxy before so how much would I need? Do I need a whole gallon or could I get away with just a pint or a quart of the stuff? They don't have gallons at the local hardware store and the stuff is pretty expensive so I don't want to buy more then I need. Thanks.

2. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

A quart will leave you some extra and you wont run out.

3. mojodad

mojodad Junior Member

Thanks

4. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

You're welcome.

Study up on how to use epoxy.

Proportioning and mixing are critical.

What brand are you considering purchasing.

5. pauloman

pauloman Epoxy Vendor

6. alan white

alan white Senior Member

I think you'll need at least two-three quarts and that means buying a gallon plus a quart of hardener. It's much cheaper to buy a gallon than four quarts.
    You'll need a filler too and maybe a couple of different fillers. Get the book from the Gougeon brothers as a reference to using West System epoxy products. All available from Hamilton Marine in Portland Maine,

7. mojodad

mojodad Junior Member

I'm not sure on brand yet. I guess whatever I can find in town. Preferably the cheaper stuff. It's my 1st boat so I'm not looking to go top shelf the 1st time around.

Thanks for the links.

8. Dirteater

Dirteater Senior Member

Hi Mojodad,

welcome.
    my boat is 13 feet,
    and this is basically what I used.
    (I also used filler)

epoxy system.jpg

9. sean-nós

sean-nós Senior Member