New guy in need of help.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by meangreen, Jul 23, 2009.

1. meangreen

meangreen Junior Member

Hello everyone,i am new to the boating seen and have some questions.
    First a little background:Last year i bought a 1989' 16' 5" Cobia with a 115 Johnson outboard.When i bought the boat i thought i would just have to put in some seats.....BOY was i wrong.The floor was completely shot after i pulled the carpet up and found a "patch job" the P/O had done...so i dug a little deeper and what i found was a 1989' Cobia MESS !!!! The plywood was all rotten and the stringers have certainly seen better days. On a better note the engine runs really smooth.For the record i am dead set on fixing it so My first question is,to replace all the wood do i HAVE to separate the body half's ?And if so from what i can tell i pull out the rubber "bumper seal" then take all the screws out around the boat ? So then what ? How would i go about lifting the top off,how heavy will it be and should i be concerned with it breaking in half ? My next issue is that i am moving to Wyoming in late december so is it possible to have the rot replaced before then,working say 4-6 hours a day ? And what would a rough estament be on materials (IE) wood,fiberglass,screws,and whatever else would be needed ?Also can i completely remove all the wood then strip the hull smooth and flat then scuff it up with say 36grit then tarp it and leave it for about 11-12 months untill i move back after college if for whatever reason i could not get it finished in time,or would it warp and disfigure to much ? And lastly i would also like to repaint the boat since i will be so far into it,so whats protocall on prepping a boat for a repaint ?Lots of questions i know and i am sorry to slam them all on ya'll at once but the sooner i know the answers the sooner i can get on the water.Thanx a million.

2. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

Hello Meangreen,