New Entry

Discussion in 'Option One' started by IOVH, Feb 26, 2003.

1. IOVH

IOVH Junior Member

Hi,
    I am new on this O-1 project, I would like to join and collaborate with my knowledge and in anything I can. I am an Interior Designer and amateur Yacht Designer, I have studied Naval Architecture at the college. The tasks I am capable to do are:
    - Develop detailed drawings
    - Constructional drawings
    - Scantlings calcs
    - Performance prediction
    - Interior layout and details
    - hydrostatics
    - Stability calcs

Answering to Will's today message, I agree to go for one or max two building materials. Ply and GRP sounds good to me. I propose to build the hull+deck with ply-epoxi cold molded system and the superstructure in GRP E-Glass vinylester, that will improve the CG height and the general look and design of the pilothouse.

Because I am new in this project, I was wondering if I can have a short brief from someone. I have a few questions like:
    In which phase we are now?
    How I can collaborate?
    Who are involved?
    Next step?
    Objectives?

Many thanks
    Ignacio

2. Willallison

Willallison Senior Member

G'day IOVH!
    Welcome to O-1 ... it's always nice to see a new face on the board. Probably the best way to get a feel for the O-1 project so far is to skip through the various threads, but in essence,
    we have:

1 Coastal hopping. 1 week duration without re-supply
    2 Trailerable
    3 Range 300 miles
    4 Crew, 2 minimum
    5 Price range, under 50K US, for home built.
    6 Must be able to carry on a normal conversation at 3/4 throttle.
    7 Outboard power
    8 Locate head up (on same level as saloon as opposed to down with berths)
    9 Light weight - about 1500 - 1800kg

There's probably some stuff that's been missed here, so as I said, you'll probably get a better feel by looking at the various threads.