I would like suggestions for design books

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Veloceruss, Oct 5, 2019.

1. Veloceruss

Veloceruss Junior Member

Hello,

I live aboard full time and want to build a performance version of the PT11 dinghy. I have some naval architecture background and mechanical engineering. I have the Bethwaite book and love it. Can anyone suggest other books for performance dinghy design? I will probably draw it by hand so a book with manual calculations would be a good start.

Thanks!

2. Squidly-Diddly

Squidly-Diddly Senior Member

"performance" meaning what changes? materials up-graded?

length and beam adjusted? For that I'd suggest downloading free Student Edition of Autodesk Inventor, and play with it so you will get effortless 110% accurate hard numbers for your new dimensions, not to mention hard numbers for otherwise very hard to figure specs like displacement at various waterlines.

Bigger sails?

3. Veloceruss

Veloceruss Junior Member

I would change construction to strip planked for weight savings and because I prefer it. The dinghy would be strictly a fun, sailing dinghy, not a yacht tender. Freeboard would be reduced to save weight. Don't mind getting wet. I will probably reduce rocker and go for a finer entry. N12 designs look great to me but I'm considering a narrower BWL and little flare. Sail area would be about 70 square feet. Just my initial ideas. I'll look into Autodesk Inventor. Thanks.

4. Alik

Alik Senior Member

Uffa Fox books are very good. Start from basics!

5. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Try to get a copy of The Nature of Boats by Dave Gerr. There is a mountain of essential information about small boats in C.J. Marchaj's book: Sailing Theory And Practice.