NEW BOY, welcome me please

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by jesse sutton, Sep 22, 2003.

1. jesse sutton

jesse sutton New Member

Hello all.

I just signed up for this site, and i am pretty impressed so far.
    Heres the info:

I dont own a boat, i have no boat experience, but i want to build a boat, and then sail. Sounds simple eh? Not really.

I came to this site, so that i could learn as much as i could about boats, and how to build boats.

What i am looking to build is a small wooden sailboat. I dont know any terms, but i learn quickly so please bare with me until i can understand whats going on.

I want to build it completely from scratch, all by hand; even to the point of cutting down my own trees, and such.

I need to know if there is a link or something that can teach me what i need to know about starting something like this, right from the beginning, so i can learn all ther terminology and how the basic functions work, so i have a fair understanding. I need to know the right trees to use, what all the parts are, etc...

Sorry to bore you with this novel, but if anyone can help me, then i would be greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Jesse Sutton.

2. Tohbi

Tohbi Senior Member

jesse, i applaud your intention but let me pass on advice given to me by a director for the national endowment for the arts. i've been an artist most of my life and we were discussing the difficulties of the endeavor. he told me, "you have to guard against burn-out."

no one knows but outselves where the magical moment of burn-out occurs but, once it happens, it is difficult to go near the project again, at least for a very long time. the point is: don't undertake a project, especially your first, that is too long or too difficult. keep it fun and you might finish it.