Catamaran project

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by brucechu1228, Jul 28, 2008.

1. brucechu1228

brucechu1228 Junior Member

I am currently in charge a catamaran project at our factory, to be honest I have never had any experience before, it would be a challenge for me. I am a project engineer at one of boat yard in Asia, not very familiar with sail boat building but I am very interested in this field. The boat is being the wooden plug at the moment, and the designer will send the drawings to our company step by step. Could someone tell me how to manage a project in person? also I do need more informatino about multihull building as far as I can. I have just participated this group recently, which felt facinated lots of. I know there should have some senior experienced people who browse this website everyday, so that it would be the best advice that to be got from them. However I would like to take any suggestion that can give me a great deal of ideas, besides it must be very useful. Looking forward to hearing any reply.

Bruce:confused:

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

This is the best suggestion I can give you: FOLLOW THE PLANS, and if the plans are not clear, contact the deisigner. If you need to make deviations from the plans for any reasons you need to clear it with the designer first. Do not assume the change is unimportant to the design.

I would presume (and hope for your sake) the designer is experianced in designing this type of watercraft, therefore he should be your first contact with any questions, information or requests for alternatives.

good luck

3. CTMD

CTMD Naval Architect

Good advice.