Stitch and Glue Boat - HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Materials' started by paul_b32643, May 2, 2012.

1. paul_b32643

paul_b32643 New Member

Talked with a supply company about building a stitch and glue boat. Was told not to buy Epoxy resin unless using for scarf joints, because of the heat in Florida would make the fiberglass too flexible. Please Help!
    (Every boat builder set of plans I have looked at says Epoxy resin not Polyester for fiberglass work and scarf joints)

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Always use epoxy!!!! specially for scarf joins!!:p:D:D:p

Polyester is a laminating material not a glue !! doesnt matter what you mix with it !!!:confused::mad:

3. Silver Raven

Silver Raven Senior Member

Gooday 'Paul' 1/ 'Tunnels' is right. 2/ Supply Co is full of 'crocodile poop'.
    Polyester 'can' be a good laminating resin but can't match it with a good epoxy. I've been using epoxy for 'stich-&-glue' for over 30 years & never had a failure - both in my personal life [in building 'A' & 'B' class catamarans] & in my boat building & repair business.

'Tunnels' got it totally right - use epoxy is your only successful choice!! Good luck with your project. Ciao, james

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

The taped seam (stitch and glue, etc.) building methods wouldn't exisit without the elongation and peel strength properties of epoxy. No other resin system can compare or should be considered. I'm in Florida (not very far from you) and I don't have issues with 'glass or epoxy use, so the best advice you could receive, is to stop listening to the supplier, offering advice on things they don't understand. Who was this "supply company"?

5. paul_b32643

paul_b32643 New Member

Thank You Tunnels, Silver Raven and PAR for setting my mind at ease. When I first received the information, I was completely in Shock!!!

6. paul_b32643

paul_b32643 New Member

In Shock about being told to use polyester over Epoxy, when all my notes and findings read "Epoxy". Thanks again.