Need some advice

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Warrior Bear, Aug 14, 2016.

1. Warrior Bear

Warrior Bear New Member

Hey, so a quick intro so you know the background. As a kid, I spent a lot of time on boats. As an adult I continued taking a boat ride whenever I could.
    After a lot of though I decided to do something important. I lost my dad when I was 8 (26 years ago) and I remember that in his backyard he had been working on a boat that needed to be refit (from A-Z pretty much).
    I inherited his handiness when it comes to fixing stuff and since I love boats I decided that in his memory, I would find a boat that needs work and get to it. Keep in mind, I would be learning from day one since this is my first time.
    I joined this forum to be able to get some advice since I have no one to ask.
    So... keeping in mind the following:
    1 - my finances took a hit recently so I will be doing as much of the work as possible
    2 - Even if I find a boat cheap I still need to get it over here (still looking for the cheapest way to do that)
    3 - ultimately, I'd like to be able to take it for travels and live on it for a while (as I get closer to the age my dad died, the less I want to put off this dream)
    Knowing this, where do you guys recommend I look? What should I be looking for? Any advice? Tips? Comments?
    And please... this is really important to me, so try to be nice (I felt I needed to say that since I know on forums sometimes people allow themselves to show their darker side).
    And thank you!

2. gggGuest

gggGuest ...