Need Information

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Ofcjake, Jul 24, 2007.

1. Ofcjake

Ofcjake New Member

I have been interested in "houseboating" for some time and have looked into rentals recently due to the high cost of purchasing a new houseboat. I have found that renting is very expensive also and have decided to look into buiding my own houseboat. I have never built a boat before but have some mechanical know how as well as construction knowlege.

I have been looking into hull construction and would like to hear your thoughts on multi hull vs. single hull. I live on a medium sized fresh water lake in which wave height rarely reaches 3 ft. (only in stormy weather). Speed is not a factor as it relates to design.

2. yipster

yipster designer

have a look at second hand houseboats in your neighborhood.
    pricing is from low to high and the us of a has planty of nice boats, cats too.
    if it isnt for speed i guess you want a multi for economy cruising or whats the point.
    remember fixing up a used boat can cost you more than a new one.
    as to your question about home building, there are sites of people doing that
    showing the whole process but cant find them back that quikly

3. Ofcjake

Ofcjake New Member

Thanks for the info yipster. I have looked at the used boats too. The ones I have seen are still overpriced for the condition they are in. I would rather have a new boat that is customized to my needs. This will be a project that I am willing to spend a lot of time on (sort of a hobbie).

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

This is one of my houseboat designs, currently one is completed, I have others. If you'd like to contact me through email (click on my name) I can send you information.

[​IMG]

5. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

I'd get lost in that boat PAR. Palacial looking. :) In a bouyant way.

Tim

6. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Well done, PAR.