need help with my first build

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by msilva86, Jun 19, 2014.

1. msilva86

msilva86 New Member

ok so im building a flat bottom fishing boat its 14 ft long 42 inches at the bottom with a 54 inch beam and 20 inches deep i know the numbers sound weird but i wanted something deep and wide to fish out of with my kids im not sure where things went wrong but the bottom curve went totally wrong and my frames some how ended up almost two inches out of square can i cut off the curve and and rebuild the frames ? im new to this and just need some help in the right direction thanks in advance

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

welcome to the forum,

not sure exactly what the issues is as you describe it, perhaps if you can post pictures it might help. sometimes if you did not get the rockers correct at the keel, than the fames would be all out of alignment for skinning with ply or planking.

making the sides tall do not necessarily make it less likely to capsize, that is a function of the boat below water line shape and center of gravity. so it is important to get the rocker correct, so It matches the designers intended lines, presuming you are following the plans.

3. messabout

messabout Senior Member

A boat with a 42 inch bottom (chine width) is not actually wide for a 14 foot boat. Although it is 54 inches at the top (sheer line), that does nothing for initial stability. In fact, since it it appears to have 6 inches of flare per side, that allows the occupants to get their weight farther off center. That is not a favorable feature. If you build small decks, six inches wide more or less, along the sides, then the problem will be diminished because the person will not be able to place his weight as far toward the edge of the boat.