Need help to start new boat building business

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by catob, Oct 17, 2007.

1. catob

catob Junior Member

Hi All,
    I am determined to start my dream business of making power boats for leisure and fishing. I need some tips on where to find good quality molds, material and technical know how. I am from the Arabian Gulf and the business opportunity looks very good. Any help is very much appreciated.

2. longliner45

longliner45 Senior Member

I am not a designer ,,,but you will do good to learn to make your own molds ,,do the business from the start to finish,,,,,I am not a business man either ,,but I do know ,is that employess are a key factor,,,hire and pay well good craftsman ,,with good reputations,,and stay at the yard ,,,,,,,,,alott,there is no free meal anywere,,, your in for a alot of work..,,I admire your guts,,,,,,good luck ,longliner

3. Kaptin-Jer

Kaptin-Jer Semi-Pro

What, if any, is the boat construction business like in your part of the world? I see Brunei building islands with every house a waterfront, but I never see a boat? Who would be your market? The Mercedes Jeep crowd? Are they into big Go Fast formula types, 15 meter cruisers, or racing sailboats? I'm sure you have done the market research. I am just curios.

If you have the backing to do it right follow what Longliner said. Find a good Marine Architect. Let him design the boat, and have the molds professional built. Build one or two prototypes and try to pre-sell the future boats from these.
    If you are starting out with a dream and your wife's kiss on your cheek --- then thats another game. You still have to do the market research to find out what you should be building. Next is to build the mold. There are obvious ways to do this, but to start out morally right you need to build a male hull to your design then build the female mold from that.

4. PsiPhi

PsiPhi Newbie